Board Oversight

An eleven-member Board oversees the management of Ontario Teachers

The plan sponsors — the Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF) and the Ontario government — each appoint five Board members and, together, they select the chair. Each Board member is appointed for a two-year term and can serve for up to four consecutive terms.

Board members are required to act independently of both the plan sponsors and management, and to make decisions in the best interests of all beneficiaries of the pension plan.

Board Governance

Board oversight responsibilities are defined in the Mandate of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan Board. Detailed information on the Board's responsibilities, plan governance and controls, enterprise risk management, executive compensation, transparent reporting and audit integrity is available in the Plan Governance section of our annual report.

Board members oversee all aspects of the plan through six committees.

Investment Committee

Chair: Bill Chinery
Vice-Chair: M. George Lewis
Members: All Board members

The committee assists Ontario Teachers' in fulfilling its responsibilities as manager of the pension fund.  It oversees the investment of plan assets, investment-related liabilities and management of plan surpluses or shortfalls.

Read a detailed description of the Investment Committee.

Audit & Actuarial Committee

Chair: Kathleen O'Neill
Members: Bill Chinery, M. George Lewis, Cindy Forbes and Gene Lewis

The committee assists Ontario Teachers' in fulfilling its responsibilities in financial reporting and actuarial valuations.  Primary responsibility for financial reporting, accounting systems and internal controls is vested in senior management and overseen by the Board. The external actuary, external auditor and internal auditor are directly accountable to the committee.

Read a detailed description of the Audit & Actuarial Committee.

Human Resources & Compensation Committee

Chair: Cathy Cranston
Members: Patti Croft, Monika FederauCindy Forbes, M. George Lewis and John Murray

The committee provides oversight and recommendations pertaining to the Chief Executive Officer and executive succession planning, all forms of compensation, performance results, employee relations and overall human resources strategy, policies and practices.

Read a detailed description of the Human Resources & Compensation Committee.

Governance Committee

Chair: Patti Croft
Members: Lise FournelMonika Federau and Bill Chinery

The committee is responsible for overseeing Ontario Teachers' system of governance. This includes, among other things, reviewing the terms of reference of each Board committee, benchmarking and adapting best practices for governance and the education of Board members, and disclosure of the system of governance to stakeholders.

Read a detailed description of the Governance Committee.

Benefits Adjudication Committee

Chair: Gene Lewis
Vice-Chair: John Murray

Members: Yves Durocher, L'Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco‐ontariens; Horst Schweinbenz, Retired, Teachers of Ontario; Tracey Pecarski, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association; Janet Bigham, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario; Paul Elliott, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation; Michael Attwood, Art Siksna and Deb Tatters, Government of Ontario

The committee considers and determines appeals about member benefits and entitlements, as provided in section 87 of Schedule 1 of the Teachers' Pension Act. 

While this is a Board committee, its 10 members include only two Board members (with preference that each be appointed by a different sponsor). Five committee members are nominated by the Ontario Teachers' Federation and three by the Ministry of Education.

Read a detailed description of the Benefits Adjudication Committee.

For information on appealing decisions, members can read:

Your Guide to Benefit Appeals

Operational Risk Committee

Chair: Lise Fournel

Members: Gene Lewis, John Murray, Cathy Cranston and Kathleen O'Neill

The committee reviews Ontario Teachers' operational risk-management frameworks as well as policies and procedures developed by management for identifying, measuring and monitoring operational risk.

Read a detailed description of the Operational Risk Committee.