Skip to content

Questions about Bill 124? Visit our News section and Bill 124 FAQs in both the working members and retired members sections.

Participating employers

You must contribute to our plan if you’re qualified as a teacher and work for a participating employer, designated private school or designated organization.

Requirements to contribute to our plan

You qualify as a member if you have a valid Certificate of Qualification or current Letter of Permission and are employed in any of the following ways:

  • In any capacity:
    • By a board of education
    • By a designated private school or designated organization
  • As a teacher:
    • In a school (within the meaning of the Education Act) in Ontario — Bloorview School Authority, Centre Jules-Léger Consortium, Grandview School Authority (formerly Campbell Children’s School Authority), John McGivney Children’s Centre School Authority, KidsAbility School Authority and Niagara Peninsula Children’s Centre
    • In a school outside Ontario under an approved teacher exchange system
    • By the Minister of a Ministry of the Government of Ontario
    • In a school or a class operated by the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Working after retirement?

If you’re a retired member of our plan and work in any capacity for any participating employer, designated private school or designated organization, there are limits on the number of days you can work without affecting your pension. See Working after retirement for more information.

If you’re uncertain whether your position is covered, please contact us.

List of participating employers

  • For pension plan purposes, you’re considered to be employed in education if you work as a teacher for an Ontario government ministry. For example, you’re employed in education if:

    • You’re seconded from a board of education to teach for a ministry, or
    • You teach at a school operated by the Ministry of Education

    Defining “teaching” in other circumstances isn’t always easy. For example, teaching inmates for the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services is considered teaching, but marking papers for a credit course isn’t, unless you’re also required to communicate with students as part of your job.

    • Albert College
    • Appleby College
    • Ashbury College
    • Associated Hebrew Schools of Toronto
    • Astolot Educational Centre
    • Baibombeh Anishinabe School
    • Biigtigong Nishnaabeg Endzhi-gkinoohmaading Elementary School (Biigtigong First Nation)
    • Biigtigong Nishnaabeg High School (Biigtigong First Nation)
    • Bishop Strachan School, The
    • Branksome Hall
    • Burlington Christian Academy (formerly Park Academy)
    • Country Day School, The
    • Crescent School, The
    • De La Salle College “Oaklands”
    • Elmwood School
    • Greenwood College School
    • Havergal College
    • Hillfield-Strathallan College
    • Holy Name of Mary College School
    • Holy Trinity School
    • Keewaytinook Internet High School
    • Kempenfelt Bay School
    • Kenjgewin Teg Educational Institute
    • Kingsway College School
    • Kitchener-Waterloo Bilingual School
    • Lakefield College School
    • Lakeview School (M’Chigeeng First Nation)
    • Lauremont School (formerly known as Toronto Montessori Schools)
    • Leonardo Da Vinci Academy of Arts & Sciences
    • Mabin School, The
    • Mattagami First Nation Elementary School
    • Matthews Hall
    • Migizi Miigwanan Secondary School (Long Lake 58 First Nation)
    • Migizi Wazisin Elementary School (Long Lake 58 First Nation)
    • Montcrest School
    • Mushkegowuk Council (formerly Kiskinnohamakaywi Weecheehitowin)
    • Niagara Christian Collegiate
    • Northmount School for Boys
    • Pickering College
    • Ridley College
    • Rockway Mennonite Collegiate
    • Rosseau Lake College
    • Royal St. George’s College
    • Sagamok Anishnawbek
    • Seven Generations Secondary School
    • Shawanosowe School
    • St. Andrew’s College
    • St. Anne’s School (Mundo Peetabeck Education Authority)
    • St. Clement’s School
    • St. John’s-Kilmarnock School
    • St. Michael’s College School
    • St. Mildred’s Lightbourne School
    • St. Thomas of Villanova College
    • Sterling Hall School, The
    • Tanenbaum Community Hebrew Academy of Toronto (CHAT)
    • Toronto French School
    • Toronto’s Ronald McDonald House School
    • Trafalgar Castle School
    • Trinity College School
    • United Mennonite Educational Institute
    • University of Toronto Schools, The
    • Upper Canada College
    • Wikwemikong Board of Education (Wasse-Abin Pontiac School)
    • York School, The
    • Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens
    • Attawapiskat First Nation Education Authority
    • Canadian Accredited Independent Schools
    • Canadian Teachers’ Federation, The
    • Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario
    • First Robotics Canada
    • Hishkoonikun Education Authority
    • Institute of Child Study c/o University of Toronto
    • Kinoomaadziwin Education Body
    • Moose Cree Education Authority
    • Nipissing University Faculty of Education
    • Ontario College of Teachers, The
    • Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association
    • Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations
    • Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation
    • Ontario Teachers’ Federation
    • Ontario Teachers Insurance Plan
    • Ottawa Carleton Education Network (OCENET)
    • Pikangikum Education Authority
    • Qualifications Evaluation Council, The
    • Sagamok Anishnawbek
    • Science North
    • University of Windsor Faculty of Education
    • Wabaseemoong Education Authority