Skip to content
otpp logo

New Members Appointed to the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board

Cathryn Cranston and George Lewis

Steve McGirr, the incoming Chair of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is pleased to announce the appointments of Cathryn (Cathy) Cranston and George Lewis to the Board. 

Ms. Cranston had a 32 year career at BMO Financial Group, where she most recently served as Treasurer. She previously held other senior roles at the bank, including Head of Financial Strategy, Capital and Funding, and Chief Financial Officer, Private Client Group. Ms. Cranston currently plays an active role on the board of Toromont Industries. She previously served on the board of various BMO subsidiaries, including Bank of Montreal Mortgage Company, BMO InvestorLine and BMO Trust Company. Ms. Cranston will start her appointment on January 1, 2019.

Mr. Lewis had a distinguished career at RBC, holding numerous senior roles including Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, RBC Global Asset Management, and Group Head of Wealth Management, RBC Personal and Business Canada. Most recently, he was a Portfolio Manager of the RBC Global Dividend Growth Fund and RBC International Dividend Growth Fund. Mr. Lewis is an experienced corporate director, and currently sits on the boards of Legal & General Group plc, Enbridge Income Fund Holdings Inc. and Ontario Power Generation. He also is a board member of the Anglican Diocese of Toronto and the Canadian Film Centre. Mr. Lewis will start his appointment on April 1, 2019.

The new board members replace Steve McGirr, who has been appointed as Chair starting January 1, 2019, and David Smith, who has served on the board since 2009.

The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is jointly sponsored by the Ontario Teachers' Federation and the Government of Ontario. Each sponsor appoints five directors and jointly appoint an eleventh person to serve as Chair.