Skip to content
otpp logo

Directors and Chair Re-appointed to the OTPP Board of Directors

On behalf of the Executive and Board of Governors of the Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF), President Mike Foulds is pleased to announce the re-appointment of Bill Chinery and John Murray to the Board of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (OTPP, Teachers') for two-year terms commencing January 1, 2017.

When John Murray joined the Board two years ago, he brought with him more than 35 years of experience as a global macro-economist as well as his expertise as Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada from 2008 until his retirement. "John has proven to be a valuable board member at Teachers' and we are fortunate to re-appoint him for another term," said Foulds.

Bill Chinery's broad and deep experience as an actuary and in pension and investment management made him an excellent choice for director two years ago. Bill's career of over 30 years included actuarial experience with Manulife and Mercer, where he expanded into pension plan management, before taking on senior roles in investment management with BlackRock/Barclays Global Investors and BlackRock Canada. "Bill has been an excellent addition to the Board," stated Foulds.

Jointly with the Government of Ontario, OTF is pleased to announce the re-appointment of Jean Turmel as Chair of the Board at Teachers'. "Jean has demonstrated excellent stewardship in his first term as Chair and we are very pleased that he is continuing in that role for another two-year term. Jean's leadership at Teachers' has been proven and this re-appointment acknowledges Jean's significant capabilities," said Foulds.
The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is jointly sponsored by the Ontario Teachers' Federation and the Government of Ontario. Director and Chair appointments are for two years, renewable for a maximum of four terms. Each sponsor appoints five directors and jointly appoint an eleventh person to serve as Chair.
The Ontario Teachers' Federation is the advocate for the teaching profession in Ontario and for its 160,000 teachers. OTF members are full-time, part-time and occasional teachers in all publicly funded schools in the province – elementary, secondary, public, Catholic and francophone.

For more information, contact:

Rhonda Kimberley-Young, Secretary-Treasurer, OTF

416.966.3424, 1.800.268.7061