Skip to content
otpp logo

Teachers' Executives Honoured

TORONTO - Claude Lamoureux, retired President and Chief Executive Officer of Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (Teachers'), has been named to the Order of Ontario, an honour given by the Lieutenant Governor to citizens who have demonstrated excellence in their fields and made an outstanding contribution to the province.

Claude, who retired as Teachers' founding President and CEO in 2007 after 17 years, was appointed to the Order of Ontario for his work as "a champion of ethical business practice" and an expert in financial services. Claude and his fellow appointees will be formally invested into the Order of Ontario at a ceremony next week.

It is the second civilian honour for Claude in as many months. In December, he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada for his contributions to promoting strong corporate governance and for his leadership as one of Canada's foremost institutional fund managers. Claude was Teachers' inaugural CEO and one of the founders of the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance. The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement and service in various fields.

In addition, several other Teachers' executives have recently been honoured.

Eileen Mercier, Board Chair, is one of four recipients of the 2009 ICD Fellowship Awards from the Institute of Corporate Directors. These awards are presented each year to individuals who bring exceptional corporate governance leadership to boardrooms throughout the country and are considered role models for excellence in governance. She will receive her ICD Fellowship Award in June.

Rosemarie McClean, Senior Vice President of Member Services, was recognized by Women's Executive Network as one of the 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada. Rosemarie was honoured in the corporate executive category in November, along with other senior executives in Canada's largest publicly-traded and privately-owned companies, pension funds, and cooperatives. Overall, the awards celebrate the accomplishments of Canadian women in various fields.

Scott Perkin, Director of Plan Policy and Corporate Privacy Officer, received Benefits Canada magazine's Volunteer award in November. Scott received the award for the extensive time he has put in as president of the Association of Canadian Pension Management. The award goes to an individual who has demonstrated dedication and leadership in voluntary work and whose efforts have had a significant impact on the retirement security of Canadians.

The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is the largest single-profession pension plan in Canada. An independent organization, it invests the pension fund's assets and administers the pensions of 278,000 active and retired Ontario teachers.


Deborah Allan
Director, Communications and Media Relations
Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan
(416) 730-5347